*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Loss of partner

Discussion in 'Loss of Spouse' started by Summerperson, Mar 10, 2021.

1. Summerperson

Summerperson Member

Hi I’m new to this. I lost my girlfriend of 24 years to cancer last week

Mary0128 likes this.
  2. Songman

Songman Well-Known Member

I'm so sorry for your loss. You are in the early stages of this unwanted journey, and to be honest, there aren't any words that will help right now. You're in the raw early stages of disbelief, and will exist in a fog for awhile, until you get a grasp of your new life without her. The fact that you reached out to the members of this community is a very positive first step. We understand what you're going through, we've been there. Cancer killed my wife and best friend, on October 18th 2019, and I'm still grieving. It's a long process. You have to learn to exist on your own without her. You will never lose the gaping hole in your soul, but you will learn (eventually) to live with it. Try to find something that can occupy your mind . For me, it was music and songwriting encouraged by my Hospice Grief Counselor.
    Keep reaching out to this forum, It helps to talk about your feelings, and eventually, you will start to heal.
    God be with you.

Bill

cjpines, Sadb and RLC like this.
  3. Summerperson

Summerperson Member

Thank you

4. RLC

RLC Well-Known Member