*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Lost my boyfriend four weeks ago

Discussion in 'Loss of Spouse' started by Scorbett, Nov 22, 2021.

1. Scorbett

Scorbett New Member

Four weeks ago, I lost my boyfriend of three years to suicide. I'm really young, I'm still in my last year of college. He was my best friend and my biggest supporter. I didn't know myself until I met him, he gave me so much confidence and security. He helped me grow into my own person. Recently, I've started feeling painfully lonely. At first, I had a whole community of friends and family who were reaching out to me 24/7 so I never really felt alone, but now everyone is seeming to move on with their lives and I'm still stuck here. I don't know what to do or how to move forward from here. My boyfriend was always there for me when I was feeling down, and I know he would know exactly what to do right now. The things I used to do to make me feel better aren't working. Does anyone have any advice?

Van Gogh likes this.
  2. Van Gogh

Van Gogh Well-Known Member

Scorbett, I'm very sorry to hear that your
    boyfriend took his own life. Suicide is a
    horrible thing for anybody, but especially
    for someone so young. You did the right
    thing to get on Grief in Common. All of us
    have lost our soulmates. My wife died
    suddenly, in front of me, exactly 3 years
    ago. We were married 25 years, longer
    than you've been alive. I found out about
    this site from my grief therapist. and
    joined the end of July. I woke up in the middle of the night and found you. I live
    on the coast of Massachusetts, so we live in
    different time zones. Can you see a counselor, who deals in grief? Please don't
    try to handle your anguish on your own.
    My wife's name was Linda. My name is
    Lou. I chose Van Gogh as my user name,
    bc he was a tortured soul. I'm better now,
    bc I can rely on some good people. But, if