*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Loss of my daughter to heroin

Discussion in 'Loss from Substance Abuse' started by Amelia’smom, Nov 29, 2022.

1. Amelia’smom

Amelia’smom New Member

Sept of 2017 I got the call every parent dreads. come to the hospital and no information was given. I am a nurse so I know what that means.
    My daughter was taken to a nearby hospital after her drug dealer shot her up w heroin after many months of not using. when I got there I had to wait forever to talk to someone, then they called me into the small room where she was, she looked beautiful, peaceful, only like she was asleep. I think it was the first time I’d seen her peaceful. She had so much pain in her life after she lost her father then stepfather died too.
    I think she didn’t want to feel anything.
    I took her to counseling and rehabs but I don’t feel like I did enough
    The guilt I feel is overwhelming, I hate myself, I wish there were so many things I’d done differently I have completely changed and no longer recognize my old self.
    My daughter is gone and I feel it’s my fault

2. Chris M 2000

Chris M 2000 Well-Known Member