*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Grieving from afar

Discussion in 'Life After Caregiving' started by studentabroad, Apr 19, 2019.

1. studentabroad

studentabroad New Member

I am a US graduate student living abroad for the year and while I've been abroad we lost my grandmother. She and I were very close and she's been fighting with breast cancer for decades, in and out of remission. It's a blessing she beat it for as long as she did but also a shock, despite the fact that we knew it was coming, because she really had been winning the battle for so long. (She was first diagnosed in 1978.) Over the past few years it's been a transition watching my grandfather, my mother, and others really transition into full-time caregivers to help her through the end.

I was so fortunate to be there at the end, making it home about a week before she died and getting to help care for her until the end. I'm 27 but it was my first time really dealing with death, and no amount of notice can prepare you for lying in bed with her as she took her last few breaths, waiting after that for the hospice nurse to pronounce the death, waiting for the funeral home to arrive. Being the one to tell my sister.

One of the challenges has been knowing that I need to come back abroad (which I have done) because it would have been so important to her that I finish my degree program. And yet feeling like all I want to do is be back at home with my parents, my grandfather (who is very lonely), my sisters, and the rest of my family. Technology makes it easier on the one hand, but the closeness-and-yet-so-far can make it even more difficult. Has anyone else experienced grieving from afar?

2. studentabroad

studentabroad New Member

3. griefic

griefic Administrator Staff Member