*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Lost the other half of my heart

Discussion in 'Loss of Spouse' started by lulup, Jun 16, 2018.

1. lulup

lulup Member

Hi this is my first time here, I lost my husband of 39 years almost 2 months ago. He had been ill the past few years, but we spent the last 7 months out of town in ICU. I found him unresponsive in our driveway and performed cpr on him. We were at our local hospital at first but they could not din a reason why he kept going into cardiac and respiratory arrest. We were transferred out of town where I had to watch him fight the fight of his life. I wanted to take him home on hospice but he did not want to give up. We had 7 extra months together that we should not have had. To make matters worse I had a mild stroke and had been in the hospital the week before he coded. I was only home from the hospital for 2 days. I will be 62 in July and now find myself having to sell our home because of finances. We had been looking for a smaller home for the past 2 years as our home is 4000 sq feet and we could not take care of it. I found out yesterday that his teachers pension stopped when he died and I can not collect his SSI because I am on long term disability. I am barely able to function I miss him so much. I have 2 grown sons who help me but there are suffering there own grief. I hate to wake up in the morning as I am unable to face another day without him

2. Gerald

Gerald Member