*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Lost the love of my life

Discussion in 'Loss of Spouse' started by Danabeau, Jan 2, 2019.

1. Danabeau

Danabeau Member

I just lost my husband on Dec 14 he lost his battle with cancer after a 3 years I am at a loss he was the love of my life we were married for 27 yrs I have never felt pain like this before I didn't know my heart could hurt so bad. I just want him back so bad it hurts. I'm just lost and I just can't seem to pull myself together I know it takes time but as the time goes by it seems to get harder each day

Reremilz and Pat Branam like this.
  2. ksteve

ksteve Active Member

I'm so sorry for your loss. I just cringe each time there is a new posting. I'm not an expert at this and for the past two months I've been trying to deal with this. It does hurt like no other hurt I've ever had before. I swear I talk to my wife more than when she was alive. Every conversation I have ends in tears. I can't believe everything I touch, pictures, conversations with others, and even tasks like grocery shopping, cleaning house, and cooking are painful. I used a hand mixer and the beaters would not stay in. How on earth did she ever use this mixer? I went out and bought a new one and I had the same problem. Solution - I wasn't snapping them in place. If I would have only given this some time I would have figured it out. Grief has consumed us and we are struggling to even live. There is no more normal and the normal we seek will never be. I want to carve out a place in my mind for these feelings and try to move on. Right now it's taking up a heck of a lot of my mind and heart. It will never go away and I don't want it to. I do have children and grandchildren to live for so and that's what I promised to my wife. So each day I try to create another space in my mind and heart to move forward and survive. I don't know what the mix will be between grieving and moving forward but I've bee