*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Lost my "home," my grandma.

Discussion in 'Coping After a Sudden Loss' started by Frostymoo, Aug 29, 2019.

1. Frostymoo

Frostymoo New Member

Lets just start of by saying I am using her old email username "frosty moo." Quite odd, but she lobed snowmen and cows. If you went to her house, it didn't matter what season it was. You would walk in and see snowman on the floor and cows on the shelves.

You know those sweet old people that don't curse, don't yell, nice to everyone, makes friends everywhere you go? That was my Mimi. My Mimi and I started getting close during my childhood because my parents were always fighting. fighting. fighting. I found that when I went to my mimi's house, I felt a sense of relief, a weight lifted. By the time I was in high school, I spent the night with her twice a week. My parents got divorced and she was the one that helped me through it.

When I graduated high school, I moved in with her once we learned she had Endometrial Cancer. She was okay. But, she was overweight and had diabetes which caused her a lot of pain. Every week she went to treatment for hours on end and finally we got the call, she was cancer free.