*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Feeling Lost

Discussion in 'Loss of Spouse' started by hope4peace, Feb 20, 2021.

1. hope4peace

hope4peace New Member

My wife lost her battle with lung cancer seven months ago. She died at home under hospice care. She was diagnosed in October 2019. That was the day that my world was turned upside down. The irony of all this is that I am a hospice registered nurse. During the day I would visit terminally ill patients and their families and then come home to care for my wife. During the last eight months before she passed our love for each other deepened and grew stronger. I miss her terribly.

2. Dee Kay

Dee Kay Active Member

So very sorry for your loss. What an amazing person you are to be a hospice nurse and then to also have cared for your wife. You have been through so much. I truly understand how your love for each other deepened and grew stronger, my husband became sick for several years where he was weakening and deteriorating in front of me. What we had his last year was pure love, a strong bond where nothing material mattered, only each day together because we knew there was a limit.

3. hope4peace

hope4peace New Member

I suppose if there is an upside to all of this is we had an opportunity to realize how deep our love was for each other and that the minor things went away.

Sweetcole likes this.
  4. Broken soul 54

Broken soul 54 New Member

Lost my spouse of 23 years To AML, he was told he had it in September and was gone 10/ 07/2020. It was the most painful thing i have ever seen. He just wasted away to nothing. I lost my first Husband in 94 due to car accident we was married 22 years,So i grieve for both.. Its the hardest thing i have ever done. Iam so lodt

5. tgotyall

tgotyall Well-Known Member