*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Failed my family

Discussion in 'Coping After a Sudden Loss' started by Vsharma, Jun 1, 2021.

1. Vsharma

Vsharma Member

10 days back I lost my younger brother due to covid and secondary infections. I tried every possible thing best of my knowledge but nothing helped. I have already helped people in this infection but couldn't help my own brother. I am a doctor who couldn't save his brother who wanted to live and now I don't know how to live with this guilt ,failure this pain. Don't know how to face my parents. I just keep thinking about what else I could have done and where did I miss. It's getting difficult for me to take breaths also.

2. YaYaJul

YaYaJul New Member

You did not fail. I am thankful you have helped so many people. I have so much admiration for what you do. Your profession is so difficult right now and I am so sorry your brother passed from Covid. Grieve, but please let this guilt go. Your parents need you.

3. SallyD

SallyD Well-Known Member

I am so sorry about what you and your family have been going through. I am not a doctor, but I also feel like I failed my brother in not being able to figure out
    how to save him. We have thyroid trouble in the family, and my brother Jordan had low thyroid symptoms for a long time...but the typical tests would come
    out "normal." Jordan ended up in the hospital in 2015 when his liver was going bad...he never drank or anything, and I thought maybe it was tied to his
    thyroid trouble going undiagnosed & untreated for too long. I did some research, and found that there were a few studies tying low thyroid and liver
    malfunction together....and that sometimes if they run thyroid antibodies blood tests on someone, this can show there's a thyroid problem where the