*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Coping with other people's reactions

Discussion in 'Grief in Common Updates, Questions & Answers' started by bluebell, Aug 20, 2018.

Tags:
  1. bluebell

bluebell New Member

Hi all, newbie here.

I lost my father two weeks ago (gosh, I can't believe it's been that long already), so the loss is still pretty raw. His death was long, drawn-out, agonizing, and ugly, and he was very young - only in his 50s. My mother and I were his primary caregivers (aside from doctors and nurses) in the last two weeks of his life, so I was present for much of the dying process. It's clear to me that there's tons I have to work through yet.

I'll be returning to work this week, and I'm really dreading dealing with the sympathy and the well-meaning-yet-misguided statements I'm sure to encounter. I've already been dealing with those and struggling to find good responses that are honest and yet not...awful. For starters, when people say, "How are you?" and you can't say "Fine," when you don't want to talk about it, because then they give you that LOOK where they want to say "Clearly you're not," but they don't want to, like, argue with you, so they just look at you pityingly instead and say it with their facial expressions. But you also can't say "I'm doing terribly, thanks," because they'll either think, "Well this person doesn't LOOK terrible, since they're not sobbing right now," or else you DO look awful so they don't want to continue the conversation and then neither of you feels like they can say anything.

But more significantly, people have been repeatedly saying certain things since Dad's wake that I'm just at a loss to respond to. What do you say to, "I hope you know how lucky you are to have had a caring dad who didn't abuse you, like mine did!" "Uhh...yes, I was lucky?" "Are you saying I'm not sufficiently appreciating him?" "Thank you?"