*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Did I jump in too fast?

Discussion in 'Dating Again After the Loss of a Spouse/Partner' started by Hugz, Dec 31, 2021.

1. Hugz

Hugz New Member

Hey there, I'm new to talking about my loss and am pretty sure no one is going to read this anyway. I fell in love young and I fell in love with my soul mate. He died violently, suicide by cop, before we had even been together for a year. I was 17. I'm 24 now and have still never loved anyone like I loved him. I feel stupid for that anyway, but I guess I'll share what I'm thinking about now. I was angry after he died, all the time. I don't think that's really gone away, sometimes I'll be in my car and a song we listened too will come on or someone will smoke nearby and I'll be rushed with the smell, and i get so mad i bang my arm against the car door while screaming, it helps a little but I'm thankful im not stronger or it would probably cause damage. I was mad at him for leaving me here. We were both aware we both had depression and suicidal thoughts, and past attempts. I took my anger out on myself for years. I kind of went on a sex bender, I slept with just about anyone all the time. It was the only time I could feel anything besides anger, and it wasn't healthy. I took a sabbatical from that though and tried to heal. I was in counseling this whole time and on meds. I didn't really talk to anyone though, still don't. I decided to give my current partner a chance because he had been trying to get me to date him since right after I met my soul mate. We're still together now and have lived together for years. I do love him, and he's my best friend. But I still think about what my life would be like and I wish every day to have him back.. even though that would mean giving everything up that I've had. I would go with him without a second thought if he knocked on the door. I've had that dream every night since he died. I guess I just don